You wouldn’t believe my day yesterday– the title does sum it up pretty well though…

A few weeks ago Brittany saw on Facebook that Spooners Frozen Yogurt was having their grand opening celebration yesterday.  The first 100 people in line would get a free 8oz frozen yogurt every week for a YEAR!  Of COURSE Scott, Tom, Brittany and I woke up at 5am to get in line as soon as we could…well, as soon as Einstein Bagels opened up so we could get breakfast:

Nonfat latte with an egg white ham and Swiss Panini on a honey whole wheat bagel thin.

einsteins

At a bright and early 6am, we were about 45th in line:

45th

Only one thing left to do… kill the next 4 hours of time…Uno anyone?

brit n scott

m n tom

uno

Snack:

apple

4 hours later we got our cards for a free froyo once a week for a year.. and the morning ended with this Open-mouthed smile  Well worth waking up after only 5 hours of sleep!

win

Right after Scott and I got home, we did some more work on the house – gutter cleaning, more work in the office, painting/priming..etc.  Then, I finished up my dishes to bring to a picnic we had with a few friends.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread

adapted from Eating Well’s recipe

chocolate zucchini bread

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts (lightly toasted)
  • 2 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 oz unsweetened chocolate, melted
  • 1 medium grated zucchini

Directions:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees and lightly coat two bread loaf pans with cooking spray (8.5 x 4.5” pans).  Lightly toast walnuts in a pan about 4-5 minutes and set aside to cool.  Mix together dry ingredients, then mix in the wet.  I added in the melted unsweetened chocolate last, and then folded in the grated zucchini and walnuts gently with a silicone spatula.  Pour batter evenly into the two loaf pans and bake for approximately 55-60 minutes.  Allow to cool for about 10 minutes before putting them on wire racks.

Black Bean and Avocado Quinoa Salad (Cold Dish)

quinoa

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups cooked Quinoa, cooled overnight in refrigerator
  • 1 diced avocado
  • 2 roma tomatoes, diced
  • 3/4 cup cooked black beans, no salt added
  • 3-4T Light Balsamic Vinaigrette
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • a few shakes of pepper
  • dash of garlic powder

Directions:

I cooked some quinoa last night and let it sit overnight in the fridge (quinoa is 2 parts water, 1 part grain.  cooked in my rice cooker Winking smile)  Gently mix in avocado, tomato, black beans, olives together in a large bowl.  Add salt, pepper, and balsamic and mix well.  Easiest side dish for a picnic and healthy!!

The picnic was amazing – we showed up to see the end of a wedding ceremony Open-mouthed smile

wedding

mountains

The food was to die for:

kabobs

chicken

I loaded up on chocolate zucchini bread, a beef kabob, a chicken kabob, strawberry salad, quinoa salad, and a cheddar biscuit.

my dish

The Flatirons were right behind us Open-mouthed smile

flatirons

Scott and I after playing Ultimate Frisbee, and pigging out on more Ginger snaps, lemon bars, chocolate zucchini bread, and s’mores.

scott n i

For the first time in TWO YEARS, I ran Open-mouthed smile.  I played Ultimate for about 25 minutes with NO back pain before I realized I should stop.  I haven’t done anything impact in such a long time I was worried all my pain would come back.  It was the most incredible feeling to be doing that again, even if it was such a short time.  I probably shouldn’t keep that a regular habit, but it’s good to know that whatever I HAVE been doing the past few years is making me stronger.

