Good morning! Smile

I woke up this morning with full intentions on making pancakes for the huz and I… but then I realized this would be my last chance to make a Buckwheat Bake for a few weeks.  I rounded up what I could find in the kitchen and made this! (Scott was on his own for breakfast… he didn’t get back until about 3am from our friend’s Bachelor Party and I had NO idea when he was going to wake up)

Chocolate Almond Butter Buckwheat Bake

chocolate almond butter buckwheat bake

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup Buckwheat Flour
  • 2T unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1T Chia seeds
  • 1/2 smashed banana
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 1T unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 tsp Cacao Nibs
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1T Almond Butter

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease/spray an oven safe dish (I’ve got my trusty 20oz soup crock).  Mash the banana in a separate bowl, then mix in almond milk, eggs, and vanilla.  Mix in buckwheat flour, chia seeds, cocoa powder, cacao nibs, baking powder, and almond butter.  Pour it all in oven safe dish and bake for approximately 30-35 minutes.  Mine usually takes around 35, but I stab it with a toothpick to make sure it’s done.

Toppings of choice today: 1T strawberry jam, 2 tsp Maple syrup, another 1/2 banana.  You could definitely taste all the chocolate, almond butter goodness.  It was JUST like a healthy brownie/muffin for breakfast!  Coffee was needed of course Winking smile

breakfast

Time to start getting supplies for the house!  If this ends up being my only post for the day, at least it was a recipe packed with chocolate Winking smile

