Happy Friday!! Hope you had a great last day of work Open-mouthed smile. I’ve noticed overnight that something happened to the style sheet on my blog – I apologize for the current sloppiness.  I haven’t changed a gosh darn thing so I don’t know how to fix it at the moment…(anyone else having this issue with WordPress??)

Back to the food!! I didn’t have to work today (hooray!), so I used every single bit of time to make it pretty darn productive.

Starting with Breakfast!! 

Chocolate Pumpkin Buckwheat Cake

inspired by Ashley’s Chocolate Banana Muffin Cake

bake2

Ingredients (…. just about everything in my pantry)

  • 1/4 cup buckwheat flour
  • 1T raw buckwheat groats
  • 1T chia seeds
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/4 cup canned pumpkin
  • 2T unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 2 tsp maple syrup
  • 1T cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • dash of nutmeg
  • dash of ginger
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1T walnuts
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp Cacao Nibs

Directions

Mix egg, pumpkin, almond milk, maple syrup, and vanilla in a bowl.  Mix in buckwheat flour, buckwheat groats, chia seeds, cocoa powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, baking powder.  Gently mix in walnuts and cacao nibs.  Lightly coat a microwave safe bowl in cooking spray and pour in batter.  Microwave for about 2 minutes.

pumpkin bake

Served on a plate, I topped mine with PB&J, shredded coconut, and coffee.

This was absolutely perfect for a quick, filling breakfast as I had to rush off to a doctor’s appointment. I love buckwheat bakes, and now I love the fact that I can make them in minutes (instead of the usual 30 minute baking time).

Right after my appointment I headed to the gym for a lil’ workout:

Workout: Spin and Machines

Three sets of leg extensions, three of leg curls, 3 x triceps pushdowns, 3 x bicep curls

60 minute Power Interval Spin class

Totals (spin only): I finished my workout on three EXACT numbers! 550 cals, 20.0 miles, 1:00 time.  I don’t have the picture of the mileage – that was on the console of the bike I was riding and I didn’t have my phone then Winking smile.

spin class results

After a shower, I met up with one of my best friends, Mallory, who was in town just for today (from Arizona!).  I’ve known her since I was in 3rd grade and I haven’t seen her since the Turkey Trot last Thanksgiving.  She was in our wedding as well Open-mouthed smile  I miss her terribly and she’s so far away…

mallory

Hmm.. sorry for my red, blotchy eyes.  It’s windy today in Boulder and I wear contacts…  We shopped around Pearl street for a little while, and ate lunch at Boulder Café with her mom and boyfriend’s mom.  I ordered the daily sandwich special (ham and cheese, tomato, lettuce, on rye bread) and had yam fries on the side (spin class = HUN-GARY!)

lunch

It was just okay honestly – the bread was just a teeeeeensy bit soggy, and wasn’t that impressed with the taste.  All four of us tackled the fries since there were more of them than actual sandwich on the plate.  I’m actually sad to say I probably won’t go back there Sad smile.  Mallory’s mom ordered a shrimp quesadilla, but got a chicken one.  Her boyfriend’s mom ordered the special salmon sandwich, but it was missing two of the 4 components that were supposed to be in there – avocado AND bacon?! Kind of an epic fail..

I had to run some more errands (after Mallory had to go back home Crying face), and downed a Sobe Lifewater before I got to the checkout at the grocery store (Yes, I’m one of those people… but ONLY with drinks if I really really really need something.  I still paid for it at the register Open-mouthed smile).

lifewater

This afternoon was much less eventful and filled me me frantically trying to figure out what happened to the blog layout (?wtcrud?)..  Dinner was spectacular however and my hunger came back with a vengeance tonight!

I cooked Farro on the stove top (1/3 cup farro, 2/3 cup water + 1/6 cup water), and roasted red pepper, zucchini, black beans, and crimini mushrooms in some balsamic:

roasted veggies

Served on a bed of spinach (cuz I haven’t had m’ah greenz today!)

farro dinner

Off to play some games with friends!!

Night!!

