Happy April Fools! Open-mouthed smile (And it’s Friday!!)  I’ve got no practical jokes planned (yet), so hopefully I can think of something funny to do to Scott Winking smile

This morning I had quite the decision to make! Oatmeal or a buckwheat bake?!?  I haven’t had a warm bowl of oats in who knows how long, but my love of morning bread-y carbs won the match again!

Extremely Ordinary Buckwheat Bake

buckwheat bake fail

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup buckwheat flour
  • 1/2 smashed banana
  • 1T chia seeds
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 to 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 flax egg (1T ground flaxseed, 2T warm water, mixed and set aside for ~5 min)
  • 4T unsweetened chocolate almond milk

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Make flax egg and set aside.  Mash banana in a small bowl, then mix in all other ingredients.  Bake for approximately 30 minutes (see if a toothpick comes out clean). 

coffee too

I topped mine with another 1/2 banana, 1T peanut butter, and ~2tsp Maple syrup.  It didn’t rise nearly as much as I thought it would, and it was still sort of mushy (almost to a bread-like consistency, but not quite).  It still satisfied the carb craving, but definitely not one of my best breakfasts.

I had fully intended on going to the gym today for a very light workout (maybe 15-20 minutes on the AMT), but wasn’t up for it still Sad smile.  I ended up soaking up the sun on about a 60 minute walk around town Open-mouthed smile.  Turns out I did about as well as I would have with 30 mins on the AMT, just with a much lower level Smile.

watch

Hopefully tomorrow I can get back into the swing of things.  Whatever it is I came down with last Sunday seriously did some damage to me.

Have any crazy April Fool’s pranks planned?

