It’s a short work week for me – get to start my weekend now! Winking smileWinking smile

I crashed around 9:30 last night and didn’t pack up anything for today before I hit the sack.  However, when the fridge is stocked with fruits/veggies/1 or 2 frozen dinners/yogurt, it’s super easy to throw something together last minute that’s pretty healthy.  Once I rolled out of bed I toasted a Sweet Wheat Alternative Bagel and topped it with reduced fat strawberry cream cheese (I stole some from Scott’s stash), St. Dalfour Raspberry Pomegranate Jam, and had a banana on the side. 

bagels for breakfast

I would have reached for the peanut butter, but that would have given me a perfect repeat of yesterday’s breakfast.  I guess it’s not the worst thing in the world, but why not switch it up just a little bit?

I had two clementines and some cinnamon roast almonds mid morning.  I bought a huge box of Cuties on Monday, so Scott and I need to start downing these things like candy before they go bad! (and they do taste like candy Winking smile).

snackeroo

In between all the frantic-ness of work today, I had a pretty decent lunch.  I had a Spicy Black Bean Enchilada Kashi frozen dinner, a Fage 0% Blueberry Acai yogurt, and a whole sliced up red pepper. 

lunch

I went for a little walk over lunch as well – it was only about 20 minutes but holy cow I was dead tired after.  It’s the most I’ve done since Saturday and I guess I’m not feeling as well as I thought I was.  Looks like another few days off is a good idea  Open-mouthed smile.

After another few meetings this afternoon (I think I see a business trip in my future!) I was absolutely starving – I dug into my emergency stash of oatmeal and nuked a packet of Maple & Brown Sugar oats and had a small spoon full of peanut butter.  Not exciting, but tasty!

snack2

oats

And now that I’m home and have a little time to spend before Scott and I head out to dinner, here’s something I’ve seen make full circle in the food-blogosphere:

ABC’s of yours truly Open-mouthed smile

A. Age: 23

B. Bed size: Queen (and you better believe THAT was hard to fit in our apartment!)

C. Chore you dislike: cleaning bathrooms.  I’ll happily scrub/bleach/wash the kitchen til it’s all sparkly (just last night I went all Steel-Wool on our kitchen sink *shiny!*), but I think bathrooms are disgusting

D. Dogs: I’ve never had one before (never had a pet growing up).  My first pet was a cat when Scott and I moved in together.  Since then, we’ve had “Doodles”, “Doodles 2” (that’s a long story….), and now “Salami”.  Note: We have no idea whatever happened to Doodles, and Doodles 2 currently lives with my parents Smile

E. Essential start to your day: Breakfast!! Abso-lutely first thing in the morning.  The only hindrance is putting my contacts in beforehand– I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t even make it to the kitchen with how blind I am without them!

F. Favorite color: Green.  Always has been, always will be.

G. Gold or silver: Silver! Gold makes me feel like I’m in my grandma’s era…

H. Height: 5’6’’

I. Instruments you play(ed): Piano – 3 years, Guitar – 1 year, singing – 10 years

J. Job title: Mechanical Engineer.  Love it.

K. Kids: None yet Winking smile.  Scott and I definitely want 2 down the road – a boy first, then a girl.

L. Live: Boulder, CO.  Hippy town USA

M. Mom’s name: Tricia

N. Nicknames: Ernie (my parents have been calling me that since I was born), “Grinding Gertie” – the nickname my high school shop teacher gave me because I liked playing with an Angle Grinder and watching the sparks fly off of metal Winking smile

O. Overnight hospital stays: Oh wow.. let’s see.  I’ve had 6 surgeries total, but overnight stays only account for two of them.  Those were getting rods in my back, and then getting them out. (more info here)

P. Pet peeves: Putting the toilet paper roll on backwards (I’m an “over” kind of girl), and loud eaters.  Just ask my husband – I cannot stand slurping/sipping/loud chewing.  I get on his case quite frequently about this.. OH, and leaving milk in a bowl or cup and letting it harden in the sink.  That is absolutely the most rancid-smelling thing on this planet!

Q. Quote from a movie: “Bad Squishy!” – Finding Nemo.  Best. Quote. Ever!

R. Righty or lefty: Righty

S. Siblings: One older bro, Brandon.

T. Time you wake up: Weekdays: 6am.  Weekends: absolutely no later than 8am (my body just wakes up then).  Weekends seem to depend on a.) what we have planned, b.) what I want for breakfast, and c.) how long it will take me to make the thing I want for breakfast

U. Underwear: um… how about a yes (always!)?

V. Vegetables you don’t like: this is the only question so far I can’t answer right away… probably radishes and anything that tastes like a radish (ew!)

W. What makes you run late: My husband Winking smile. I’m one of those people where 5 minutes early stresses me out because I feel late. 

X. X-rays you’ve had: *refers back here* Just to name a few: probably 30+ on my back, teeth (dentist!), CT Scan on my abdomen, MRI of my back, ankles/wrists from injuries playing sports…  I’ve definitely had more than most people twice my age Sad smile.

Y. Yummy food you make: Just about every single thing I eat is yummy.  I frequent the “food coma dance” many times a day – Scott thinks I’m an idiot Open-mouthed smile.  Here’s a good example!

Z. Zoo animal favorites: My favorite ones to look at are the crazy multi-colored frogs, but I like observing anything monkey-ish Smile.  They are just way too smart!

