I was SO giddy last night after getting my package in that I immediately started planning food for today.  If you think for one gosh darn second that I wouldn’t attempt to dry brush AND complete a 30+ minute baking project all before heading to work, you are quite wrong Winking smile.  I was flyin’ this morning!
I’ve seen dry brushing a ton over the past month while reading blogs, and I’ve been wanting to try it out (basically a good way to flush out toxins!).  I would definitely read up a little bit before starting just so you get the technique right.  I used this link here.  We’ll see what happens in a few weeks Smile

“Apple Pie” Buckwheat Bake

(adapted from one of Ashley’s versions)

oven

bake

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup ground buckwheat groats
  • 1T raw buckwheat groats
  • 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 1/2 t vanilla
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/4t baking powder
  • 1 flax egg (1T ground flaxseed, 2.5 T warm water, mixed and set aside)
  • 1T chia seeds
  • 1-2T chopped walnuts
  • 1/4 cup milk (I still don’t have almond milk Sad smile)
  • 1/2 cup diced apple (this was a little less than 1/2 of an apple for me)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and lightly coat a baking dish (I’ve got my 20oz soup crock).  Make flax egg and set aside for ~5 minutes.  Mix everything else together (pretty concise instructions, eh? Winking smile), then mix in the flax egg.  Bake for approximately 30 minutes. 

I topped mine with peanut butter, maple syrup, and shredded coconut.

You couldn’t even imagine how excited I was when this was done baking – Scott woke up and wandered into the kitchen to see how my “project” was going.  I was RIGHT in the middle of taking a picture of the dish while a large spoon with peanut butter was hanging out of my mouth Open-mouthed smile.  Holy early-morning food coma!  My kitchen smelled like apple pie and it was AWESOME!!!

The bake was super large (mainly because I stuffed it with apples and it puffed up), but it held me over clear until lunch.  I had a salad of spinach, broccoli slaw, mushrooms, green pepper, avocado, light balsamic vinaigrette, and tomato with Kashi crackers, water, and a cheese stick. 

luncho

This was a pretty light lunch, but since I didn’t have a snack I ate WAY earlier than normal.  That just meant more snacking throughout the day Winking smile.  I also made it out for a 30 minute walk over my lunch – today was b.o.r.i.n.g. so I HAD to get away for a little bit.

More snackage later was a Chobani Strawberry and cinnamon quaker oatmeal squares. 

snakc

Actually.. this was more of a second lunch as it was about 2 hours after my salad…

Then right before I left work I had a Bora Bora Wild Pomegranate Pecan bar to power me through some errands! 

bar

The bar was really good, but definitely a bit crumbly.  It was by no means a dense/compact bar, just sticky and chewy.

My day ended up going sooooooo sssslllllloooooooooooooooooww.  I go MAD on days when there’s absolutely nothing to do and watching 9 hours go by on the clock is like a death sentence…Tonight is better however – We’ve got game night and our friends are cooking dinner!! Let’s see… “Indian style curry with sautéed chicken, yogurt, onion, and tomato. We’ve got steamed cauliflower with nutmeg and rice for sides”… straight from the email he sent out. ❤ curry!

What do you do at work to make the time pass?…. I need some sneaky tips!

