Today was nothing short of uneventful – just a typical Sunday afternoon Open-mouthed smile

It was definitely an overcast, gloomy day here and I was freezing, so I nuked up a turkey/hummus/cheese wrap (mini spelt tortilla) for lunch with an orange and some water.  This was more of a dense snack than a full meal – I wanted to get my lazy butt to the gym Open-mouthed smile

lunch

Workout: Strength and Cardio

Pushups, assisted dips, assisted chin ups, lat pull downs, triceps push downs, glute machine, calf extensions.  I did about 10 minutes on the rowing machines and then finished up with a good 20 mins on the AMT.

Totals: ~300 cals, 34 mins (cardio only)

After a shower I finished up my “lunch” with a protein packed post workout snack of a Chobani Vanilla Greek yogurt and some Kashi Honey Puff cereal.

snackeroo

bowl

The best part of the day was definitely watching The Oscars, while eating THIS:

dinner

Shrimp and Sweet Potato “Curry”

Serves 2 (aka… I’ve got leftovers for tomorrow because Scott won’t eat this lol)

Ingredients:

  • 2-3 tsp oil (I used canola oil, but you could use vegetable, olive, peanut…)
  • 1 cup of cocktail shrimp, peeled and de-veined (I had frozen, precooked kind)
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 1-2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1.5 t curry powder
  • 1 sweet potato, small or medium, cubed (I microwaved mine about 2-3 minutes beforehand to shorten the cooking time)
  • 1 cup brown basmati rice (or other grain of choice: quinoa, white rice, couscous…)
  • 1/2 green pepper, sliced
  • 1 cup chicken broth (or broth of choice.. this is just what I had on hand)

Directions:

Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium heat and sauté and onions, garlic, and green pepper until the onions become translucent.  Add in the curry powder, stirring for about 1 minute.  Add in the sweet potato and stir to coat it with the curry powder.  Pour in about 1 cup of chicken broth, cover and bring to a boil.  Reduce the heat to medium and simmer (still covered) for approximately 20 minutes.  I cooked my rice in my rice cooker while this was simmering.  Add in the shrimp and simmer uncovered for about 5-7 minutes (just to warm them up).  Serve it up on some rice Open-mouthed smile (and a beer)

beer

Epic. Win.  I didn’t have all the legit “curry” ingredients (coconut milk, cilantro, canned tomatoes…etc), but this was a darn good substitute for the authentic stuff!  Seriously one of the best dinners I’ve made in a while Open-mouthed smile.

Oh yea… the curry powder I used was from a local spice shop:

curry

This stuff had a real spicy kick not long after taking a bite, but it went away very quickly.  Strange, but absolutely amazing <3!

Happy Oscar watching!

