So I know I’ve mentioned Ashley’s Buckwheat Bakes before and that I’m d-y-i-n-g to try them, it’s just that I don’t have Buckwheat groats yet Smile.  Because I have no patience when it comes to food, I made a version with ground Farro Open-mouthed smile

Ashley’s Cocoa Banana Buckwheat Farro Bake (with slight changes)

bakes

It looks like her picture Open-mouthed smile 

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup ground Farro
  • 1T raw Farro
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • 1/2 t vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup milk (I ran out of almond milk – def would add that next time!)
  • 2t Maple Syrup
  • 2t unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 flax egg (1T ground flax seed, 2.5T warm/hot water, mixed and set aside for ~5 minutes)
  • 1T chia seeds
  • 1/4t baking powder

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350 Degrees
  • Mix and set aside flax egg
  • Mash 1/2 banana in a bowl, then mix in everything else (including flax egg)
  • Lightly coat a small dish (oven safe) for this – I used a 20oz soup crock
  • Bake for ~30 minutes then top with whatever you want (1/2 sliced banana, coconut, pb, more maple syrup)

done2

So. Incredibly. Gooey ❤

gooey

This was a GREAT change from my usual banana scrambles that I seem to make every Sunday Smile.  The Farro seemed to be a fine substitute for buckwheat, but I’m definitely going to be trying this with buckwheat as well.

**Next time I think I’d add in another teaspoon of cocoa powder (use 3 instead of 2), I’d use chocolate almond milk instead of cow’s milk (I ran out Sad smile), and I think I might omit the vanilla extract and see how chocolately I could make it!

 

Have a great morning!

