Yesterday was such a busy day – we went around with our realtor to about four different houses.  Everything is just starting to make a bit more sense because it’s a bit confusing when you first start looking around.  I think just right now Scott and I are trying to get a sense of what we like and what we don’t like.  People really aren’t lying when they talk about the loooooooooooooooooooooooooong process to buy a house.  I think we’ll be looking for at least another six months before anything happens.  I’m still keeping my fingers crossed that we’ll be living somewhere LARGER by Christmas Open-mouthed smile.

My lunch was a homemade salad: lots of spinach, slices of tomato, hummus, mushrooms, cukes, avocado, carrots, a GardenBurger original patty, Italian dressing, and a slice of last night’s leftover pizza.  Deeeelicious Smile

mondo salad

Dessert was a little piece of chocolate  Smile

choco

There may also have been a grande sized latte and a Chocolate Coconut Larabar in there as well somewhere for snacks.

Dinner was spectacular too– we went out to The Cork for my mother-in-law’s birthday.  I’ve eaten here many times for work-related lunches and such, but it’s still JUST as tasty for dinner.  I ordered the Rocky Mountain Rainbow Trout (second time I’ve had this).  The fish was literally larger than the size of my head… but I ate the ENTIRE thing plus HALF the dessert we ordered for all 4 of us – a pear crisp (trust me, you DON’T want to see how much food I actually ate…).  No pictures from me on the meal however – we were too into hanging out and talking about houses Winking smile.

However, this morning’s post is about THIS stuff:  I randomly stumbled on this Organic Farro at Costco Open-mouthed smile.  It’s another grain very similar to Barley for it’s properties.  I’d have to do some more research (as I don’t have the time right now), but if you’re interested, click here.

Farro

After reading and reading about this as a breakfast food on Ashley’s site, I knew I NEEDED this bag!!

And of course this morning I had to give it a demo Winking smile

bowl2

My mix was (vveeeerrrrry similar to Ashley’s recipe):

  • a smidge less than 1/3 cup ground Farro (compliments of my coffee grinder)
  • 1/2 cup of milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1tsp vanilla extract
  • 1tsp Agave Nectar

I put the milk, water, and Farro in a pot and let it boil up – for about 10 minutes and let most of the liquid cook out of it.  I mixed in 3T raisins and the vanilla in the last minute, and then topped this with 1T peanut butter, 1/2 banana, and some chopped walnut pieces.  I drizzled the Agave over all of that.

Epic. Win.  This stuff has the textural consistency of something like grits (hey, I’m from the south – it’s all I have to compare it to Winking smile), and was suuuper thick and creamy:

bowl3

But holy COW did the vanilla flavor pop out in this.  I honestly think next time I’d only use 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract (just personal preference).  The flavor is much more  prominent than it would be with the same amount in rolled oats.  I think this will definitely hold me over for a good 3-4 hours…

Plans for today:

  • Church
  • Stop by a few properties to “drive through the neighborhood”
  • Stop by a new gym that I “might deem acceptable” IF we move.  Yes, I AM basing house locations on how long it would take me to get to an appropriate gym Open-mouthed smile  It’s going to be tough for a gym to beat my current one however, and it makes me sad that I might leave it Sad smile
  • Not sure because we’re expecting something stupid like 10 inches of snow…. that might put a small damper in plans
  • Baking Avocado Banana bread and making a Sweet Potato and Split Pea soup (IF we get snowed out) – which I’m hoping does happen Smile

Have a great Sunday morning!

