Last night I crashed around 9pm, and it was heavenly.  After a good night’s sleep I woke up quite rested and ready to tackle the craziness of today.

Since I went to bed so early I was absolutely ravenous when I woke up.  I had a Dulce de Leche Luna bar and half of an orange before I went to spin.  I normally don’t eat a whole bar before a workout, but I definitely needed the extra energy.

b1

Workout: Power Intervals (again!)

This week was so weird with spin instructors; I haven’t had the normal instructor any of the three days this week.  I had Friday’s instructor on Monday, Tuesday night’s instructor on Wednesday, and Monday’s today… I guess it does switch it up a bit, but I did miss having my favorite guy, Nathan, teach today.  There was no way to keep track of what we did today either – we did a ton of 2-3 minute intervals, standing, sitting, racing each other…

Totals: 588 cals, 20.2 miles, 1:06

Usually I stay long on my off-Friday’s (what’s the rush when you don’t have to work?!), but I completely forgot to bring my Zune and headphones.  Fail!.  Spinning in a class with absolutely NOTHING to listen to or watch is the most boring thing in the world, especially if you’re the only one in the room.  I felt good enough with today anyways Winking smile.

To refuel, I made something I’ve been DYING to make for quite a while, Angela’s Green Monster!

green monster

The mix in mine today was 1T chia seeds, 1/2 tsp Maca Powder, ~2 cups spinach, 1/2 orange from breakfast #1, <1/4 cup blueberries, 1/2 frozen banana, 2 ice cubes, and 1 cup of milk (I used regular cow’s milk because I ran out of almond milk Sad smile)

ingredients

Overall this was the best tasting smoothie I’ve made with spinach in it.  I drank the entire thing but had to chew through just a few bits and pieces of spinach (not terribly crazy about that).  I’d definitely call it a success for Green Monster attempt #1.

**Edit: I did a quick nutritional analysis on myGreen Monster..

Calories: 269

Carbs: 48g

Protein: 13g

Fat: 5g (mostly from the milk)

Check these out though: Vitamin A: 127%, Vit C: 114%, Calcium: 44%, Iron: 16%

Boo-freakin-YAH!

Today is going to be really busy too: I’m planning lunch and shopping with my mom (weeeeee Open-mouthed smile), dinner with the huz, and some more house hunting (which will consume most of the weekend)

What are you planning this weekend?!

