I hope you had a fantastic (and safe) New Year’s last night!  We had an absolute BLAST with friends Smile.

Scott, Tom, Brittany, and I ventured out in the afternoon for a little fun in the snow!  We built a snow fort and a little “kitty” trail for their cats, who ended up being WAY to cold to actually enjoy it.  I guess last year’s snow fall was much more enjoyable for them.

Mint

to 

Then it was time for some dinnah! I did a repeat of yesterday’s lunch, except better!

Half a sweet potato, stalk of celery, mushrooms, chickpeas, and edamame mixed with some olive oil, salt, pepper, crushed red pepper, roasted in the oven for about 25-30 minutes (at 375 degrees).  I served this up with some whole wheat Israeli Cous Cous and added some spinach at the end just to wilt it up a bit. 

cous cous

Insane-o YUM!!  This filled me riiiight up and was the perfect base to the rest of the night’s consumption of things.  I ate this tasty little dish while Scott made himself a can of spaghettios:

spaghettios

Oh wait… I mean Spaghettios with imitation crab meat…(… gross)

spaghettios with crab

We played an epic game of Heroscape in which Mike, Scott, and I got our BUTTS kicked by Tom, Brit, and CL. 

Heroscape

Mike and Scott

Scott n Mike

Brittany and Tom

tom n brit

Scott and CL

Scott n CL

Yup, we’re all nerds here – I embrace it to no end Winking smile

There were bucket loads of snacks, veggies, chips, popcorn, champagne, wines, beer tastings, but the BEST part was that Brittany baked some of her famous lava cakes!  She made three kinds, regular chocolate, one with Nutella in it, and one with a peppermint patty inside (I think that was the overall fav!).  Ooey gooey chocolate = food coma Winking smile

lava cakes

Yup, you can just imagine how DELICIOUS this was! Smile  Brittany also brought over some goodies from Robin ChocolatesChocolate Peanut Shale and Candied Ginger and Cranberry Dark Chocolate Bark… neither of which I actually have a picture.  I think the Shale went in less than 10 minutes… (deeeeeelicious!)  We played games, lost, and then toasted in the New Year with some Peach Champagne that Mike and CL brought over Smile

Last night was so much fun, but I was definitely excited to wake up and start off the new year with a delicious, healthy breakfast!

I made Ashley’s Cinnamon Banana Scramble Smile (I’ve had so many of these, but omg AH-mazing!).  I followed her recipe exactly.

scramble

Ingredients:

  • 3T rolled oats
  • 1T ground flax meal
  • 1T almond milk [or any milk]
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1t cinnamon
  • splash of vanilla
  • 1T unsweetened coconut

Directions:

Mash banana and mix everything together.  Form into two  patties and cook “pancake style” for about 2-3 minutes on either side. 

I served this up with a toasted whole wheat English muffin and topped with ~1T PB, strawberry jam, and the other half of the banana.

scramble2

I. Love. These! ❤ melted gooey peanut butter Smile

Not sure what the rest of the day is going to be like, but we’ve got some fun things planned with Tom and Brittany later tonight!

I hope your first day into 2011 goes well! (Hopefully it isn’t starting with a hangover… Winking smile)

