Soooo yea… I drove about 5 minutes then turned RIGHT back around and then cancelled my back massage Sad smile.  Fail.  I’d be really stupid to drive 30 minutes to this place… it’s horrible out!

Instead I played some games until I started getting hun-gary!! Smile  Something warm and toasty was needed, but I’m really not much of a soup person.  I like to actually chew and eat my food Smile.  I cut up half a sweet potato, chopped some mushrooms, opened a can of unsalted chickpeas, cut some red peppers, coated it with a little olive oil, and topped it with salt and pepper, Italian seasoning, and crushed red pepper. 

roasted

Into the oven at 350 degrees for about 20- 30 minutes (until the sweet potato was fork tender), and out popped THIS:

lunch

This was absolutely the most amazing veggie mix I’ve ever put in the oven Smile Deeeeeelicious and warm!  I had this with my leftover slice of pizza from the other night.  It’s not exactly my idea “grain” with this meal, but it NEEDED to be eaten!  Next time I’d rather some quinoa, cous cous, or something else.  But, I HATE wasting food so I ate what was in the fridge.  I had this with a mug of tea because it’s. Freaking. Cold!! 

My snack this afternoon was Angela’s 3-minute Vegan Maple Oatmeal Cookie! (slight variation because I didn’t have everything, and didn’t want to go to the store in the snow Sad smile).  I wanted something warm and this was DEFINITELY calling my name! (And quite honestly, I was itching to get into the kitchen to make something, but not dirty up the place again!)

cookie

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1 vegan egg white (1 tsp ground flax + 1/4 cup water)
  • 2 tsp whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1T raisins
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1T Kashi 7 Whole Grain Honey Puffs Cereal
  • a few semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1T Maple Syrup
  • Pinch of Salt

Directions:

Mix the flax with the water and set aside.  Mix the dry ingredients in a separate bowl.  Pour in the maple syrup, vanilla, and vegan egg white into the dry ingredients and mix together in a microwave safe bowl.  Pat it all down into “cookie form”.  I microwaved mine for 80 seconds and then let it cool off.  I had a small glass of almond milk on the side. 

ingredients

wet

mixed

served

Heaven!  Even though I didn’t add any sugar to it, it was juuuuust fine for me Smile.

I was planning on eating some “greens” today in the form of a green monster, but I couldn’t get past the “it’s got ice in it and I’m freezing my arse off cold” thing.  Cookie >icy spinachy goodness!  Besides, Scott and I are going out with Tom and Brittany tonight to a place that’s a little more “WHOLE-some”…. I’m sure I’ll get in some more veggies later!! Winking smile

