This afternoon was awesome! Brittany and I went out with all her bridesmaids to get fitted, grab lunch, and meet each other Smile.  I’m not sure but I think the next time we’ll all be together will be AT the wedding.

While we were out, I grabbed a Subway sandwich: grilled chicken, honey mustard, and everything except onions and pickles.  I had also already eaten the other half of this morning’s Luna Bar.

subway

I spent the latter part of this afternoon cleaning, running more errands, catching up on blogs, calling a realtor, and then I realized it was dinner time!!  Scott had leftover pizza in the fridge that I knew he was going to grab for dinner, so I made myself something sinful!  This was also something I knew that Scott would NOT IN A MILLION years touch (more for me?).  He HATES Brussels sprouts, HATES tofu/tempeh (a bad dorm food experience once – it tainted him for life), and would not eat anything “earthly” like Quinoa (I’m not actually sure why on this one..).  I’ll leave him the hotdog/crab meat/honey mustard and soy sauce pizza…..

Teriyaki Tempeh with Quinoa and Brussels Sprouts (how original of a name….)

quinoa

Ingredients:

  • ~4oz Tempeh, I used the leftover Spicy Veggie kind from two days ago
  • ~1/4 cup low sodium teriyaki sauce
  • maybe 1/8 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
  • a dash or two of garlic powder (didn’t have real garlic)
  • …. I definitely didn’t measure anything in this meal
  • a good handful of Brussels sprouts
  • 2/3 cup of cooked Quinoa
  • Garnish of some green onions and sesame seeds

I used my rice cooker to cook the quinoa, while steaming the Brussels sprouts on the top half.  While that was cooking away, I sautéed the marinated tempeh for a few minutes on each side on medium heat, until it started to brown.  I basically just threw everything all on top each other once the rice cooker went off  – and I poured the extra marinade over everything.

Easy and deeeeelicious!  The tempeh was 3 million times better marinated than just cooked.  Now that I scarfed that down, we’re off to a Game Night at the neighbors Smile

Side note: I FINALLY updated the “My Husband and I” section. Smile

