One thing I’m downright HORRIBLE at is sleeping in!  Even if I go to bed really late I’d still prefer to wake up early so I can start my day (and start eating!).  I was planning to hit up a spin class late this afternoon because there’s a new spin instructor who’s RIGHT around my age Smile – seems like fun!  I figured there’s no need to go to the gym early morning also Smile.

So naturally, I set my alarm for 6:45 (… fail.) in order to get up and make these:

Pumpkin Protein Pancakes, #2

Serves 1

(This is a slight variation on some other pancakes I made a few weeks ago)

pumpkin pancakes

Ingredients:

  • 2T rolled oats
  • 2T whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 scoop whey protein powder (~50 cals)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • <1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • <1/8 tsp ginger
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • dash of salt
  • 1 flax egg (1T ground flaxseed mixed with 3T warm water)
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened chocolate almond milk
  • 1/2 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Mix em and cook em Smile.  This makes 4 little pancakes with using about 1/4 cup of batter for each.

Toppings:

  • 1T peanut butter
  • 2 tsp Maple syrup
  • 1/2 tsp finely shredded unsweetened coconut (I picked this up at the farmers market yesterday!)

breakfast

I actually did a little nutritional analysis of this (source: Nutritiondata.self.com):

Including the toppings (coconut, PB, syrup): 419 cals, 14g fat (mostly from peanut butter = good fat), 22g protein, and 52g carbs

Just the pancakes: 278cals, 5g fat, 18g protein, 40g carbs

Yes, you CAN have 4 pancakes smothered with a mess of toppings without feeling bad Winking smile.  Now that I’m stuffed with breakfast, it’s on to cleaning day #2!

Have a great Tuesday morning!

