I hope you’re having a great week so far!  Have you finished your Holiday shopping yet??  😉

I’ve been down in Louisiana for a total of 2 days now visiting extended family.  There’s been a CRUD load of dominoes, cards, and war stories (I’m staying with my grandparents right now), and BUCKET loads of food and cookies.  Since I have no idea how this stuff was cooked/baked/prepared/stored in the freezer, here’s just a bunch of random pictures of some food over the last few days. (Note: cookies, snacks, caramel corn, chips…. were all consumed before, after, during, and more so afterwards in between each meal.  Yea – I miss my spin classes already!)

Homemade meatballs (super enriched Walmart “garlic bread” and “spaghetti”). Excellent meatballs though!

spa

I made myself some french toast on some packed whole wheat bread, 1/2 banana, and peanut butter… and coffee

french toast

One of my Larabars from my packed “Snack stash”

lara

Po-dunk lunch I fabricated – overly salted prepared ham 😦

lunch

My “No mayo potato salad” and “no sour cream + heavy cream + vegetable oil salad”

dinner

I did NOT eat the oh-so-prepackaged enriched white buttermilk biscuits for breakfast, but instead mixed a Strawberry Activia, a banana, and about 1/4 cup of chocolate cheerios together for a yogurt bowl!

yogurt bowl

Another “I’m going to be super picky” lunch: baby carrots, guacamole, part of a sweet potato, ricotta cheese, salad, spaghetti and meatballs.

sad lucn82

Carrots, zucchini, chicken, and onions with so much butter, salt, and heavy cream I ate half a plate.  And yea… no other sides were made with dinner (that’s just how it goes down lol).  Cookies and a bowl of cereal were eaten later 🙂

chicken

Grandma’s cookies – aka: my food DOWNFALL! They are PHEN-AAAW-MENOL!

cookies 

To give a quick overview of the cuisine down here: salt, butter, white flour, salt, butter, hot sauce, salt, and oh yea… more salt and butter.  :)  Yup, that’s how it goes down… ALWAYS.  I’m literally cringing right now just thinking about making it through tomorrow with all the food down here…. Especially when my grandma and I went to the farmers market and I saw this:

sausage

I’m trying to make the best of it, avoid certain foods, or just take smaller portions, but you just have to eat what people are serving :). I’m trying to take food out of bowls/pans/tupperware BEFORE all the “fixings” are added in – no mayo, no extra salt, no more butter, no heavy cream…I’ve already hit up the gym, and I’ve only been here less than 48 hours… THATS how bad I felt eating everything.  My workout was done in a little hole-in-the-wall gym over 30 minutes away, and I had to pay $10 dollars just to get it.  AND, it was worth every penny of it!!! I did a quick workout (with the machines that actually functioned) of some of the usual: squats with dumbbells, bench dips, adduction, abduction, chest press, shoulder press, bicep curls, lat pull downs, seated row, leg extensions, and then I finished it up with 43 minutes on the “elliptical” (it sort of functioned).  I burned off a cookie perhaps 😉 – about 376 calories.  But holy cow did it feel good to work up a sweat (and get rid of all the extra salt I was loading around ;))

Usually our family vacations are spent driving between a few different cities in Louisiana, as everyone I’m related to (on both sides of my family) lives down here.  We usually spend every second playing dominoes, cards, random games, and sitting around visiting!!  There’s not too much tourism (believe me, I’ve been to New Orleans and Jefferson Square more times that I can count!), and I honestly don’t know if I’ve ever heard anyone mention a gym before haha.  For someone who works out 6 days a week and is a complete health nut, this becomes VERY difficult. 

Day 3 starts tomorrow :).  Hopefully I can actually do well in one of the games we play – I’ve been getting my butt ANNIHILATED the pa

LiveJournal Tags: ,,

st few days!  And, hopefully I can convince a few people to take a walk with me during the day!! 🙂

How are you surviving your family get together’s this holiday??

