Ok… so let’s talk about last night!  Brittany’s Cookie party was EPIC! I can’t even describe how incredible of a baker she is, and how deeeeeeeeeeeeeelicious these were.  She made (recipes will be linked later):

Peppermint Snowballs

shortbread mint

Lemonhead cookies with a lemon whipped filling

lemon

These lemon cookies were the first things to go…. they. ROCKED!

Peppermint Patty Fudge

brownie

Chocolate and White and Semi-sweet chocolate dipped pretzels, dipped in candy canes

pretzels

Her grandma’s sugar free oatmeal raisin cookies!

oatmeal raisin

Everything was amazing, and of course we all completely overate in cookies, drinks, chips (and other snacks that were there…).

Our sugar high lasted through a big game of Apples to Apples (with a total of 12 people), and well into several random youtube videos SmileSmile.  Epic Night!

 

And of course with all holiday traveling, there’s an incentive to get ONE last workout in before you go…I woke up early this morning to get in one more spin class before I leave for a few days.  You just never know when/if you’ll get the chance to exercise when visiting family (my family that I Winking smiles), so I want to get one last HARD workout in! Beforehand, I had half a banana, half of a Caramel Nut Brownie Luna bar, and some water. 

b1

Yea, I realize this tends to be the regular pre-spin workout food.  You just have to see what sorts of things work for you.  I’ve discovered that if I don’t eat something “solid” like a granola bar, cereal, or something a bit more substantial, I get HUN-GARY halfway through spin, and then I can’t concentrate.  I also need something soft that will give me quick energy – it’s just a balance game and what you prefer RIGHT before a workout.

Workout: Endurance Ride (maintain 75-80 rpm, focus on Watts)

Warm up

Stage 1: Warmup Intervals

30 seconds on (HIGH wattage), 30 seconds off (Medium wattage), increase resistance every interval

Stage 2: Endurance Intervals with sprints

1 min medium/high watts, increase resistance and 30 second HIGH watt sprint, 30-45 second recovery

2 min medium/high watts, increase resistance and 30 second HIGH watt sprint, 30-45 second recovery

3 min medium/high watts, increase resistance and 30 second HIGH watt sprint, 30-45 second recovery

4 min medium/high watts, increase resistance and 30 second HIGH watt sprint, 30-45 second recovery

Stage 2: Endurance Intervals with sprints

4 mins: increase resistance every minute – end on HIGH watts, 30 second HIGH watt sprint, 30-45 second recovery

3 mins: increase resistance every minute – end on HIGH watts, 30 second HIGH watt sprint, 30-45 second recovery

2 mins: increase resistance every minute – end on HIGH watts, 30 second HIGH watt sprint, 30-45 second recovery

1 min: increase resistance every minute – end on HIGH watts, 30 second HIGH watt sprint, 30-45 second recovery

Stage 3: Distance Intervals

(2x) 3 minute intervals, go as far as you can, then do a 30 second high watt sprint at the end

Cool down (aka, wipe sweat DRIPPING from face, and fall off bike!)

Totals: ~588 cals, 20.0 miles, 1:05 time

Another insanely GREAT ride for me (especially for the lack of sleep last night).  I averaged right around 20mph, and average watts were in the upper 160s/170s

After a looooooooooooong shower, I went to the fridge to see what I had to get rid of before I leave: a bucket load of canned pumpkin (since Scott won’t TOUCH that stuff).  SO, I made an extra-pumpkiny “banana scramble” (I don’t think I will ever get sick of these things!)

b2

Ingredients

  • 1/2 small to medium banana
  • 3T rolled oats
  • 1T chia seeds
  • 1/4 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1T unsweetened chocolate almond milk
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla
  • dash of nutmeg and ginger

Directions

Mash it all together, and cook in a pan “patty” style like a pancake.  (This isn’t really a pancake consistency, so be careful flipping).  Cook for about 3-5 minutes and then flip, then cook for another 2-3 minutes.

I served mine on a half of a whole wheat bagel, and topped it with 1.5 tsp peanut butter, 1/4 tsp chocolate coconut butter, and 1 tsp strawberry jam… + coffee and milk.

b scramble

Major YUM!

Now off to do laundry, pack, shop, pack some more, go to our church’s Christmas service, go to ANOTHER Christmas party, and then crash!  SO MUCH TO DO!! Smile

I hope you have a great Saturday! I’m not sure when I’ll be posting next, but it might be at the airport if I get there early enough (and am bored enough!)

Smile

