Sunday morning breakfasts never seem to be consumed before we have to leave for church, so I keep having to eat in the car… Granted, I did spent a decent amount of time this morning making steel cut oats, so I suppose I can’t really complain.

Today’s chosen breakfast came straight from Ashley’s website again, the Edible Perspective.  I guess I’m one of those “visual eaters” – I’d rather see something and make it than come up with something… it’s either that or I’m quite lazy.  However, her pictures make the food look amazing, so it’s really a win-win for me because it’s also healthy! Open-mouthed smile

I chose some Pumpkin Steel Cut Oats – with coconut butter Smile

I used almost the exact same recipe, with a few changes

oats

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup steel cut oats
  • 1 1/4 cup water
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened chocolate almond milk
  • 1/2 large banana, thinly sliced
  • 1/3 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1t vanilla
  • a bit of nutmeg and ginger

Directions

Boil 1 cup water, then add in the oats and stir for a few minutes.  Let that cook for about 10 minutes or so, until the water is mostly absorbed.  Add in the banana, the other 1/4 cup water, almond milk, cinnamon, vanilla, nutmeg, and ginger and cook for about 5 minutes.  Stir in the pumpkin the last 2 or so minutes.

I topped this with a chopped walnut, some peanut butter, and chocolate coconut butter (Artisana Organic Raw Cacao Bliss Coconut Butter).  I JUST bought this stuff for the first time and it is deeeeeelicious.  I completely understand why so many bloggers pack this stuff in oats.  It’s a great topping Smile.

oats again

Amazing, and rrreeeaaaly filling.  I use almost the same amount of stuff when I make overnight oats, but this dish fluffs up like you wouldn’t imagine.  It barely fit in the bowl I had it in.

After church Scott and I did some more Christmas “browsing”… didn’t really buy anything however.  I grabbed a quick lunch of a Falafel pita sandwich – sauce on the side, but I didn’t really use it.  I haven’t had Falafel in probably over two years… I LOVE the stuff though. 

falafel

I definitely need to make this at home – I’ve got a recipe lying around from Cooking Light that has it baked instead of fried (yay!).  It just takes some time to prepare so I’d need a few hours of time (and some kitchen counter space!).

Off to dilly dally, play some games, and relax a bit.  Sunday’s are usually my day off from the gym/general working out, so I definitely want to use this time to catch up on a few things and recoop before the last work week before vacation (I already know this week is going to destroy me Surprised smile).

