Last night’s Christmas party was so much fun.  I really like all the people that Scott works with, and it seems like a pretty tight-knit community.  We all completely overate, stuffed our faces, and drank a ton of wine, but it was totally and epic party!  I of course don’t have any pictures, but here’s (approximately) what we were served (Some of the things were  “questionable” in my book – I don’t think I sampled a few things):

Appetizers of various types of sausages, fried cheese curds , and fried pigs ears.  First course of either a salad with lemon vinaigrette and more fried cheese, or a carrot and squash soup.  Main course of one of: Sea bass with tempura sweet potatoes, chicken two ways with orange and in a salad, or prime rib with mashed potatoes.  Dessert was cinnamon cheesecake and bourbon spiked hot chocolate.  Let’s just say there WILL be a workout this afternoon Smile  But first, I need to get to today’s breakfast…

I had this recipe picked out already before we left last night to the party – you have no idea how giddy I was the whole night just looking forward to making these this morning!  There was actually a point during the night where I leaned over to Scott and whispered, “Pumpkin Scones, Pumpkin Scones, Pumpkin Scones” in his ear… and then started laughing.  Yes, I was THAT giddy.

Angela’s Savoury Pumpkin Scones in a Pumpkin Spiced Glaze (with Chocolate)

Slightly adapted from Oh She Glows recipe (I halved the recipe to only make 4)

topped

Before I get too far into this, I’d like to just say that these are quite possibly the most delicious scones I have ever eaten in my life.  Scott loved them SOOOO much (and he even knows they are vegan) that he asked me to make these for him and his parents on Christmas morning.  Surprised smile…  I… woah.  Angela created this amazing recipe and all I can say is GO MAKE THESE THINGS RIGHT NOW!! Smile Ok, /end_rant… back to the recipe!

And yea, most of this stuff comes straight from Angela’s site (not the pictures… hers are MUCH better), so please please click here to get the legitimate instructions!

ingret

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1.5 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp cloves
  • 1/8 tsp ginger
  • 1T sugar
  • 1/4 cup (or 4 T) Earth Balance butter
  • 1/4 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1.5T unsweetened chocolate almond milk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 of a flax egg (1/2T ground flax + 2 T water) **fyi – this substitutes for egg whites
  • sprinkle of sugar right before these babies go in the oven

Vegan Egg Wash

  • 1/2T cornstarch
  • 1/4T water
  • 1T melted Earth Balance Butter (I changed this – continue reading to find out why Smile)

Pumpkin Spiced Glaze

  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 1T unsweetened chocolate almond milk
  • 1/8 tsp cinnamon, and just a teeny pinch of ginger and nutmeg

Directions

Preheat oven to 425F, lightly coat a baking sheet with non-stick spray.  Mix the flax egg in a small bowl and set aside.  Mix the dry ingredients together, and then add in the Earth Balance butter.  Mix until crumbly.  Mix the wet ingredients in a separate bowl (including the flax egg).  Mix the wet and dry ingredients until you start getting a dough.  Flour a surface and knead the dough a few times.  Form the dough into a circle, and cut into 4 equal sections.  With a pastry brush, apply the “vegan egg wash” to the triangles, and lightly sprinkle with a little sugar.  Bake for about 10-12 minutes, and allow scones to cool on a rack for another 10 minutes.  While those are cooling, make the pumpkin spice glaze.  Frost em and top em.  Eat and enjoy the food coma!

Mix the flax egg

flax egg

Combine the dry ingredients

dry ingredients

Add in the Earth Balance butter

butter

Mix until crumbly

crumbly mixture with butter

Mix the wet ingredients (flax egg too)

wet ingredients

Mix wet and dry together to get a dough… and flour a surface

mix wet and dry

Knead a few times and shape dough into a circle

circle dough

Cut into 4 equal sections

cut circle dough

Make the “vegan egg wash”

cornstarch and water

Note: the original recipe calls for 1/2T cornstarch + 1/4T water.  Microwave for 30 seconds and brush on the scones.

Attempt #1: Rock Hard Clay (with above cornstarch and water amounts

failed cornstarch 1

Attempt #2: I reversed the amounts (1/4T cornstarch + 1/2T water).  I instead got a really jelly like substance I’m pretty sure was still smoking coming out of the microwave

failed cornstarch 2

Attempt #3: I gave up and just melted some Earth Balance Butter, and then brushed it on top the scones Smile.  Win! (I must do some more research on the vegan egg wash)

give up use butter

melted butter

brush

(Sprinkle on a little sugar after the “egg wash”)

on a baking dish

Bake and transfer to a cooling rack

cooling rack

Start mixing up the pumpkin spice glaze.  I did mine in a baggie so that I could control the frosting part of it all a little better.

frosting bag

frosting

Cut off a little corner and frost the scones! Smile

iced

Top with whatever you want.  Scott and I both added a few pieces of walnuts.

topped2

This one is Scott’s:

scotts

I had this with my morning coffee too!

breakfast

I actually started licking the plate when I was done eating… Scott had to take it away from me.  Yes this is true I’m not just writing it Winking smile  Scott can vouch for me.  It’s probably a good thing I halved the recipe – there’s no way I could safely be around more than 1 of these at a time…

Ok… once I get out of my MASSIVE food coma, I need to get to the gym. 

Go. Make. These. Open-mouthed smile

