This afternoon has been absolutely UN-productive!!  Smile However, it’s probably one of the most relaxed I’ve been in a long time.  I was lazy and had an almost repeat of yesterday’s salad (but delicious nonetheless)…

salad

(spinach, cukes, clementine, kidney beans, red pepper, avocado, veggie burger, Italian dressing, and a thick slice of the Great Harvest Cinnamon Raisin Swirl bread (omg, I’m addicted!)

But, Scott and I did manage to get a nice 30 minute walk in (straight to Starbucks because it was quite chilly out), and the best part was I was wearing my new sweat shirt with THUMBHOLES!!  This thing is absolutely awesome because my hands are ALWAYS cold, but this warms them up a bit even in the house Smile.

shirt

 

sb

welcome my Grande, decaf, soy, misto with 2 pumps of pumpkin spice Smile yumm-o!

And since the laziness continued, I got some time to play in the kitchen!!

 

Shrimp and Soba Noodle Stir Fry

soba2

(adapted from Healthnut Foodie’s Recipe)

Serves 2

Ingredients

  • Soba Noodles – 1/4 of the package shown (about 1” diameter)
  • 1/2 of a 10 oz bag of medium shrimp, shelled and deveined
  • 1/2 cup Edamame, frozen
  • 1/2 cup corn, frozen
  • 1/3 – 1/2 cup sugar snap peas
  • 1 scallion, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 to 1 cup mushrooms
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp garlic salt

Sauce/Marinade:

  • 1T sesame oil
  • 1T low sodium soy sauce
  • 1/2T sugar
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 2 tsp cornstarch
  • 2T water

I used these Soba noodles

soba

Dissolve the cornstarch into the water, and then add other sauce ingredients.  Marinade that with the shrimp (I did for an hour).

Boil some water and cook the soba noodles (approximately 5 minutes).  Drain and immediately rinse the noodles with cold water (an excellent tip from Healthnut Foodie) – you need to stop the cooking process for these or they get too mushy.

While the noodles are cooking, heat the olive oil in a pan on medium heat.  Stir fry the edamame, corn, and sugar snap peas for about a minute.  Add the shrimp + sauce mixture and cook until the shrimp are pink (about 3 minutes).  Add in the soba noodles. mushrooms, and the garlic salt right in the end and cook until the mushrooms are done and everything is warmed up.  Serve and sprinkle the scallion on top.

sob

I cannot even TELL you how delicious this was!! Scott LOVED it and it was loaded with veggies and Buckwheat pasta!?!?? I’m not sure I will ever hear that come out of him again!!  I need to go relax, get out of my food coma, and just revel in the amazing-ness of that dinner!!

Epic Win! Open-mouthed smile

