I swear sometimes I feel like I’m 60… I went to bed around 10pm last night and was absolutely exhausted!  I guess that just tends to happen by the end of the week… especially when I wake up at the crack of dawn every day.  Since I was up early, I decided to go to the earlier spin class at my gym today… and I was pretty darn hungry so I ate an Iced Oatmeal Raisin Luna Bar… and started hydrating with a glass of water.

luna2

Workout: Power Intervals

Warm up

Stage 1: Stay @ 85 rpm, alternating between extremely high, and medium resistance

20 seconds @ max resistance

10-15 sec recovery at medium resistance

30 seconds @ max resistance

10-15 sec recovery at medium resistance

40 seconds @ max resistance

10-15 sec recovery at medium resistance

50 seconds @ max resistance

10-15 sec recovery at medium resistance

Recovery: 2-3 minutes

Stage 2: Same time intervals, double the length of each, adding half resistance

20 seconds @ 90 rpm, add half of max resistance

20 seconds @ 90 rpm, at max resistance (add the other half)

10-15 sec recovery at medium resistance

30 seconds @ 85 rpm, add half of max resistance

30 seconds @ 85 rpm, at max resistance (add the other half)

10-15 sec recovery at medium resistance

40 seconds @ 80 rpm, add half of max resistance

40 seconds @ 80 rpm, at max resistance (add the other half)

10-15 sec recovery at medium resistance

50 seconds @ 75 rpm, add half of max resistance

50 seconds @ 75 rpm, at max resistance (add the other half)

10-15 sec recovery at medium resistance

Recovery: 2-3 minutes

Stage 3: Exact same as Stage 2, but in reverse

50 seconds @ 75 rpm, add half of max resistance

50 seconds @ 75 rpm, at max resistance (add the other half)

10-15 sec recovery at medium resistance

40 seconds @ 80 rpm, add half of max resistance

40 seconds @ 80 rpm, at max resistance (add the other half)

10-15 sec recovery at medium resistance

30 seconds @ 85 rpm, add half of max resistance

30 seconds @ 85 rpm, at max resistance (add the other half)

10-15 sec recovery at medium resistance

20 seconds @ 90 rpm, add half of max resistance

20 seconds @ 90 rpm, at max resistance (add the other half)

10-15 sec recovery at medium resistance

Cool down

Totals: ~794 cals, 21.2 miles, 1:20 time

The girl who teaches Saturday mornings is insane on the bike – I always come home a sweaty mess (more so than usual).  How’s that workout for an early am wake up call??

I stopped at Great Harvest on the way home to grab some of the Cinnamon Raisin Swirl bread, but they were out again!  However, they had just put some more in the oven, but they had another hour to bake.  *cries* Sad smile

I ran home to cook breakfast , because I swear I was about to eat my steering wheel in the car…. I had done a little research last night for recipes, and I found one from Eat, Spin, Run, Repeat that I had all the ingredients for.  I’ve had a few cans of canned pumpkin lying around and it’s taken me about a month to get back into craving it… But, these really hit the spot after spin this morning (and a shower!).

Pumpkin Protein Pancakes

topp it

(adapted from Angela’s Recipe)

Makes 4 pancakes (~1/4 cup batter each), serves 1

  • 1/2 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1/4 cup low fat milk
  • 2T rolled oats
  • 1 scoop Biochem Vanilla Whey Protein Powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp ginger
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • a dash of salt

ingre

Mix all ingredients together

mix dry

mix wet

Pour batter in about 1/4 cup parts in a nonstick pan.  Cook on medium heat.

in pan

Flip when the battery gets bubbly.  Note: these pancakes are reeeeaaaly mushy.  Flipping is more of a skill than an instruction…I’d advise cooking a little more than you think you should before flipping.  Also, the pancakes will look a little darker than normal – they are not burnt.. it’s the batter Smile.

flip

Stack em, and top them with whatever you want!

stack em

I used a little less than 1T of Peanut Butter, and 2 tsp Maple Syrup.

pb pancakes

And of course coffee + milk was needed to wash this all down!

coffee

Now I’m off to Great Harvest again to see if I can snag one of the loaves of bread!  It will definitely be incorporated in my lunch if I’m successful! Smile

