I hope you had a fantastic Thanksgiving!!  Our weekend was full of eating, cooking, cleaning, working out, eating again, basketball watching, reading, and visiting family.  It was soooo nice being able to just relax for a few days, NOT cook every meal, and focus on family and friends.  I didn’t even get pictures of all the great food we ate – there was just WAY too much to do!

me n scott

Probably the only picture of me and Scott ON Thanksgiving.  I failed at picture taking this weekend… perhaps because I’m still using my phone and “need” a real camera Smile.table

curry cauliflower soup

Curried Cauliflower Soup – my father-in-law has a gift with holiday soups!!

sweet potato biscuits

My Sweet Potato Biscuits

potatoes

Mashed Potatoes with Spinach, Mushrooms, Cheese – another Father-in-law specialty!

green beans(My Green Bean dish I made – with FAR fewer cloves of garlic and shallots than the recipe required.  My hands still smell like garlic from all the chopping!

cherry pie

Father-In-Law’s homemade cherry pie.  Omg, amazing!

dessert

Half of my dessert plate that night… definitely went back for seconds on pumpkin/cherry pie! I realized I never got a shot of what I actually ate for dinner… I was too excited to eat it!  There were also a few glasses of wine consumed as well…

 

And of course the day AFTER thanksgiving requires a decently long workout, right?

Pre-gym food: a banana + half a packet of peanut butter.  My in-laws were even nice enough to let me in to their gym on a guest pass (even though they had to work that day).  I got a nice loooooong ride in by myself that morning.  Scott slept all day because he went out with all the other CRAZY people to hit up some Black Friday Sales!

breakfast

Workout: “Spin Class”

It was my own made up “spin class”… There weren’t any classes that day and I was able to get into the cycling studio, so I just sort of made it up as I went along.

Warm up: 5 minutes

Stage 1: Hills (18 minutes)

5 minute climb – increasing resistance every minute and standing on the last minute

1 minute recovery

Repeat above two steps 3 times total

Recovery: 2 minutes

Stage 2: Fast Flats (15 minutes)

3 minutes – keeping above a 3 minute mile pace

1 minute recovery

Repeat above steps 4 times total

Recovery: 2 minutes

Stage 3: Sprints (9 minutes)

I sort of did this “pyramid style”

15 seconds full on sprint, 15 seconds off, 15 secs on, 15 off, 30 on, 30 off, 30 on, 30 off, 15 on, 15 off, 15 on, 15 off

1 minute recovery

Repeat above steps two times total

Recovery: 2 minutes

Stage 4: All out 2 minute sprint

Cool down: 5 minutes

Totals: ~591 cals, 19.5 miles, 60 minutes exactly Smile

I think that was WELL enough for a post-Thanksgiving workout! Smile  I went back to my in-laws house and cooked me up two eggs, tomato slices, and a bit of cheese to refuel.

post spin

chinese food

I had lunch out with my mom (SmileSmile) – I had egg drop soup, brown rice, and a dish with tofu, bell pepper, onion, celery, carrot, baby corn, mushroom, cashew nut and chili sauce.  I didn’t eat the eggroll and only ate about half the rice.  Delicious!!  My mom and I shopped all day around town, until Scott and I had to go to a Nuggets Game!!!

nuggest

Because Scott is ROCKING his job, his boss surprised him with tickets to the game: Row 7 seats and VIP Parking.  This was my absolute first professional basketball game and omg it could NOT have been more epic.  The seats were incredible, parking was waaaay too easy, we ended up on the Kiss-Cam Open-mouthed smile, AND, the Nuggets won a very close game against the Chicago Bulls at the buzzer with a 3-pointer.  I think I’m still on an adrenaline rush…

basketball

birdman

Birdman.  He’s absolutely the most interesting basketball player I think I’ve ever seen… lol.  Loving the tats and the mohawk.

free throw

bulls

 

 

And then this morning we started over with a good breakfast (start the detox Thanksgiving food please!!).  I had two eggs, spinach, Cholula, red pepper flakes, a bit of cheese, coffee + milk, a leftover (un-cheesy) sweet potato biscuit, and Scott and I shared a small bowl of grapes.

saturday breakfast

I can’t believe it’s only Saturday too – my mental schedule is definitely thrown off this week, but that’s okay because we still have TWO full days before work!! SmileSmile  That leaves plenty of time for grocery shopping, a light workout, laundry (boo), and attempting to tackle all the Thanksgiving leftovers… I think second day Turkey tastes even better!

