Ok, so problem solved on the sweet potato thing…. They were both sweet potatoes. One WAS a yam (the one with the more orangey color), which is just a variety of a sweet potato.  If you really want to know the difference, read here Smile

 

Cheesy Sweet Potato Cornbread… or Biscuits… Take your pick Smile

(adapted from Self Magazine’s Recipe)

HPIM1613

Makes 8 Cornbrea Biscui … “things”

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium sweet potato (a yam Smile)
  • 1 1/4 cups Hodgson Whole Wheat Buttermilk Pancake Mix (yup, I really did use this… because I already had it in the pantry)
  • 2 T unsalted butter, cubed
  • 1/2 cup lowfat milk
  • 1/4 tsp ground allspice
  • Optional: 2/3 cup shredded cheese, plus a little extra to sprinkle on the top

HPIM1590

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees, and either spray or line a cookie sheet.  Pierce sweet potato with a fork a few times, and microwave on high for 4 minutes.  Scoop out the insides into a bowl, mash them, and put it aside. 

HPIM1596

Combine butter and pancake mix in a bowl and mix until crumbs start to form.

HPIM1595

HPIM1600

Add in mashed sweet potato, milk, and allspice and mix together. 

HPIM1601

HPIM1602

At this point I decided to divide the mixture in half, and fold in 1/3 cup of shredded cheese (half of the above recipe) because I knew this would probably be the ONLY way Scott would even try these. 

HPIM1603

Divide dough into 8 equal parts on the cookie sheet.  Add a smidge more of cheese on top of the biscuits if you want (I did this JUST for the cheesy ones… just so I didn’t mix them up). 

HPIM1605

Bake for 15-20 minutes (this mixture took longer than the recipe suggested) until “things” are lightly browned.  Allow to cool on a wire rack. 

HPIM1609

HPIM1612

I tried two small pieces of each, one with butter and one without.  (Cheesy ones on the right)

HPIM1610

These actually tasted delicious!!!  I gotta say though, I am partial to the cheesy ones… with butter SmileSmile.  The pancake mix has cornmeal in it, which is why these are some strange hybrid of a biscuit and cornbread.  I want to see what Scott thinks of them before I decide to make these next week.  My guess??  He’ll take extra butter… on the cheesy ones Open-mouthed smile (although I don’t think he likes cornbread?)

