I’ve got today off (Yay!) so I took the advantage of the extra time and tacked on quite a few miles after spin class this morning.

Beforehand, I had whole wheat toast, PB, flaxseed, banana slices, agave… and a small glass of orange juice.

HPIM1584

Workout: Class + another hour of my own time Smile

Warm up

Fast Flat (@ 85 rpm)

Hill (seated/standing @ 65 rpm)

Fast Flat(@ 90 rpm)

Hill (all standing@ 60 rpm)

Fast Flat(@ 95 rpm)

Hill (all seated@ 55 rpm)

Fast Flat(@ 90 rpm)

Cooldown

I stayed after and just did whatever to my own playlist (standing, hills, fast flats, pickups)

Totals: ~1094 cals (wtf??… might have overdone it a bit today), 31.2 miles, 1:56 time

I came home and showered off the “squishy-ness” (my husband’s word for that so overly drenched sweaty state where you hunch over because it’s so uncomfortable walking around in wet clothing)… and then threw together the fastest hunk of carbs and protein I could think of – cereal Smile. I had a mix of Kashi Go Lean and Quaker Oatmeal Squares, and a much needed cup of coffee + milk.  I was saving a bar or an apple for “travel food” as I knew I was going to be out running errands later.

cereal

I had an apple in the car (always seems to happen…fail!)

travel apple

I shopped for a few hours, and undoubtedly went grocery shopping (WIN! Open-mouthed smile)

HPIM1585

HPIM1586

HPIM1587

and then made an EPIC salad for lunch (compare size of plate size to size of fork…) Smile

HPIM1588

Spinach, black beans, baby carrots, English  cucumber, tomato slices, red bell pepper slices, reduced fat cheese stick, Blue Moose Roasted Red Pepper Hummus (no website sadly), Food Should Taste Good Blue Corn Chips – NEW!, a Sun-Dried Tomato Basil Gardenburger, with a little Newman’s Own Light Balsamic Vinaigrette on top.

I’ve still got a few errands to run, but first up is to demo one of the recipes that I’m cooking for Thanksgiving next week… Sweet Potato Biscuits!  I’ve never really had any chance to cook something for my in-laws (my father-in-law is an excellent cook so he usually does the dinners/meals when we visit), so I want to try this out before we see them.  I’d HATE to mess them up, or have them taste horrible Sad smile lol.  The recipe will be posted later… regardless of if they taste good or not!! (keeping my fingers crossed!)

 

I have to be completely honest however… I bought two types of potatoes today because there were labels for sweet potatoes, and yams… and… I don’t know what the difference is (I feel like such a cook failure!).  The one I thought was a regular sweet potato was labeled as a yam, and the lighter colored one was under the sweet potatoes name…. so instead of asking (because I was sort of embarrassed lol), I bought both and am now on Google Open-mouthed smile (Dear cooking lord,  I apologize for my ignorance.  Amen.).  I’m sure I can’t be the only one who’s done this…please oh please tell me someone else has no clue either…

Winking smile

