I skipped spin class this morning in order to concentrate on something WAY more important.  I’ll hit up the gym later this afternoon instead – which will be a wonderful change from my usual early morning routine! (I keep trying to convince him to come with me… but yea… NO budging on that one yet…)

I somehow managed to convince Scott last night to let me cook “whatever I want” for breakfast today… “within reason”… which simply means “Don’t make it taste like cardboard”…  That’s a statement that doesn’t come too often and I have to SAVOR.  SO, I came up with this…

 

HPIM1578

Pear Spice Pancakes

Makes 4 pancakes

  • 4T Whole Wheat Flour
  • 3T All Purpose Flour (to help lessen everything of the dreaded “cardboard taste”) 
  • 2T rolled oats
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp ginger
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup Vanilla Greek Yogurt (sshhhh, I’m hiding some protein in these pancakes Open-mouthed smile)
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla (a smidge less than normal because the yogurt had vanilla in it Smile)
  • 1/4 cup applesauce
  • 1 chopped up Red Pear

I started with these:

HPIM1568

Mix the dry ingredients and set aside:

HPIM1569

Then the wet:

HPIM1570

Mix both together:

HPIM1571

Chop up the pear and then gently fold that into the batter:

HPIM1572

HPIM1573

Divide it all into fourths and start ‘em cooking! Smile

HPIM1574

Flip ‘em.

HPIM1575

Serve and top them with whatever ya want.

I had Maple Syrup and of course… Peanut Butter Smile

HPIM1578

Scott CLEANED his plate SmileSmileSmile  Guess they didn’t taste like cardboard.

I win Winking smile

