Holy crud bananaboats!! Insanely busy day at work/not the ideal eating day… but hey… it happens in the office….

 

Before spin, I grabbed half of a While Chocolate Macadamia Luna Bar, half a freakishly large banana, and a small glass of chocolate milk.

HPIM1544

My workout today was slightly hindered as… well… apparently the person responsible for opening up the gym by 5AM was STILL not there by 5:45 (which is when spin class starts). There were about 20 people waiting outside by then too.  FAIL. Someone did unlock the doors a few minutes past 5:45, so we weren’t too late starting class… However, that’s the second time that’s happened in a few months!! You’d think they would distribute a few more keys out..??

Workout: ANOTHER Peak Performance Day…. = Death!

Warm up

Stage 1: Pickups, Recovery, Pickups, Recovery

Pickups (~4 mins): 20 seconds sprint, 10 seconds ~80-90 rpm “recovery”, Repeat 8 times- in a row (aka… “omg I’m going to puke”)

Recovery (~3 minute): Fast Flat

Pickups (~4 mins): 20 seconds sprint, 10 seconds ~80-90 rpm “recovery”, Repeat 8 times- in a row

Recovery (~2 minute): Fast Flat

Stage 2: Hill

Hill (~8 mins): Seated 1 min, standing 1 min, increase resistance

Repeat above 4 times

(No Recovery)

Stage 3: Pickups, Recovery, Pickups, Recovery

Pickups (~4 mins): 20 seconds sprint, 10 seconds ~80-90 rpm “recovery”, Repeat 8 times- in a row

Recovery (~3 minute): Fast Flat

Pickups (~4 mins): 20 seconds sprint, 10 seconds ~80-90 rpm “recovery”, Repeat 8 times- in a row

Recovery (~2 minute): Fast Flat

Sprint: 2 minutes

Fall off bike, and attempt to cool down…

OMCrudbatman. I don’t think I’ve sweated THAT much in my life!!  That was maybe my BEST spin day… I hit a new PR for watts today though (260W) SmileSmile

Totals: 15.0 miles, ~490 cals, 52 mins

 

Post workout food was random as I only had 5 minutes to grab food before work (I couldn’t eat breakfast there today as I went straight into some training)

Eggo Taco: Whole Wheat Eggo Waffle, Peanut butter, flaxseed, half a banana, other half of Luna bar Smile Insanely yummy + protein/calorie/nutrient dense for recovery! NOM!

HPIM1545

*Shove face with food in ~3 minutes* (not ideal, but I refueled nonetheless…)

 

About three + hours later (~10:15 am), I was on the verge of STARVATION!! I ran and grabbed one of the oatmeal packets (Cinnamon and Spice!) I’ve got buried in my desk, and had that with a few raisins and walnuts. THIS was much better than what I found in the break room… donuts and pumpkin cake bread. Oats >> Sugar High !

oats

donuts

(Fail again!)

 

I grabbed lunch today around noon – which would have been my lunch yesterday…except we were taken out! I had made a turkey, cheese, Dijon, romaine, and avocado on sprouted wheat bread. An orange and the rest of my Sweet Potato crack Chips were also inhaled.  Today was nice because I got to actually eat IN the break room, NOT at my desk like I normally do.

lunch

The past few days have been really hard on me at work – I’ve been training a guy all week so I’ve had very limited break time, and extremely limited food choices in those breaks.  My afternoon snack followed this rule pretty well and a Gnu bar and tea ended up being consumed over the carrots/hummus I had packed (covered containers back in lab = okay.. food = not okay).

snack

Again, NOT ideal for me when I crunch in two bars a day (Luna, then a Gnu bar)… but yea.. that’s just how it is sometimes.  And like I said yesterday, I always make sure my dinners are LOADED with veggies… as I eat mostly “grainy” carbs throughout the day Smile

And, on top of allllll that this week, I have to go in to work tomorrow (was supposed to get my “floating holiday”)… Sad smile.  Bummer dude.  BUT, I’ll try to reschedule that for next week I suppose Smile  Gotta just take whatever life throws at ya and learn to accept/appreciate it Smile

What do you usually do for food/snacks when pressed for time?? Or are you the type of person that will just NOT eat?  (If I did that, people would find me lying somewhere unconscious!! Food is very much needed every few hours for me!.. I’m not diabetic or hypoglycemic but I do get the shakes!)

