Omg – I had quite the experience with a sushi overload last night!! On top of that I decided to have a beer with Scott when we got home.  My stomach was NOT happy at me!!!!

However, the sushi was AHHMAZING! We ate at Japango in Boulder.

sushi

sushi2

I ordered the Monster Roll (crab, avocado, eel, topped with siracha)

Scott got two California Rolls and a Nany Nay Roll – the fried one that comes with the sauce in the glass! (We ended up splitting one of the California Rolls – he couldn’t finish it lol).  Then we went home and tried a new beer he brought to work for their monthly “beer swap”.  This thing was actually quite delicious!! It had a hint of sweetness, but tasted pretty light (although I’m sure it wasn’t). 

HPIM1496

This morning I woke up not hungry whatsoever… but I know me and I KNOW that I cannot do a spin class on an “empty stomach”.  I had a half a banana and a half Optima Orange Chocolate Bar with coffee +milk.  I’m not sure why I bought this bar, I probably just saw the “Chocolate” part and said to myself “OH, a NEW bar to try!!”.  I’m not a fan of the orange/chocolate combination.  However, it wasn’t too horrible tasting – anyone who does like orangy-chocolaty things would probably love this!

HPIM1497

As it turns out, I’m going to assume that my carb overload last night was the PERFECT fuel for today’s spin class.  I don’t think I can remember a more butt-kicking/sweaty/run myself stupid class EVER!  I ROCKED it today in Power Intervals!

Workout:

Today’s workout was focused on Power Intervals – basically, an hour long of switching between light and HEAVY resistance over short periods of time.  This type of workout should be focusing on Watts, not mph on the bike.  This would end up giving you more of a calorie burn in the session, but you probably won’t go as far as an Endurance Class (focusing on mph).  Here’s how today went down…

Warmup – a few pick-ups and short intervals

Stage 1: Focusing on 90 rpms (keeping that RPM no matter what you do to the resistance)

Segment 1: 20 seconds “on” (high resistance), 10 seconds “off” (lower resistance).  We did this consecutively 5x.

Segment 2: (5x) 30 seconds on, 15 seconds off

Segment 3: (5x) 40 seconds on, 20 seconds off

Stage 2: Focusing on 80 rpms

Segment 1: (5x) 20 seconds on, 10 seconds off

Segment 2: (5x) 30 seconds on, 15 seconds off

Segment 3: (5x) 30 seconds on (standing – which means you add even MORE resistance to account for body weight), 15 seconds off (seated)

Segment 4: (5x) 40 seconds on, 20 seconds off.  This was a progressive segment where every 10 seconds of the “40 seconds on”, we increased rpms by 1.  We should have ended each “on” session at 83 rpms.

Stage 3: Focusing on 70 rpms

Segment 1: (5x) 20 seconds on, 10 seconds off

Segment 2: (5x) 30 seconds on, 15 seconds off

Segment 3: (5x) 40 seconds on, 20 seconds off.  This was another progressive segment ending on 73 rpms.

Totals: ~607 cals, 19.0 miles, 1:08 time

I absolutely ROCKED the intervals because I increased both my calories burned and mileage from a regular spin class.  Smile WIN!

By the time I got home I was FREAKING HUNGARY!!! I downed a glass of chocolate milk just so I could make it through a shower lol.  Then, I made a yummy breakfast!!

 

POWER PROTEIN PANCAKES

HPIM1512

Makes ~3-4 small pancakes

Ingredients:

  • ~3 oz. Greek yogurt (I had  a 5.3oz plain container in the fridge, and used a little over half of it)
  • 3.5 T whole wheat flour
  • 3.5 T all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla
  • 1T unsweetened applesauce

 

HPIM1502

Mix the dry ingredients:

HPIM1503

Add and mix the wet:

HPIM1505

Each of my pancakes were 2 heaving Tablespoons of batter – the small one was about 1T.

HPIM1506

Cook until bubbly…. (I was jumping around by this point… these. looked. amazing!)

HPIM1507

Flip….

HPIM1508

STACK AND LAYER!!!

HPIM1509 Pancake + 1t PB

HPIM1510 Pancake #2 + 1t PB

HPIM1511Pancake #3 + 1t PB +1/2 banana

HPIM1512

Top that all off with 3 crushed walnuts, 1t strawberry jam, and 2 t Maple Syrup.

 

Eat until you pass out Open-mouthed smile (nom nom nom…)

HPIM1513

HPIM1516

HPIM1518

HPIM1519

I ate everything except the teeny pancake – I thought I’d save that for Scott to see if he’d ever eat these (he doesn’t like “cardboard wheat tasting things…”)

Holy. Crud. Batman. Epic food coma!!! Smile with tongue out

