Well, I was right about the salad.. about 30 minutes after I posted last, I ate one of the Think Thin bars I bought – Cookies n Cream.  Not. Tasty.  Worse than chalk and WORSE than the Zone Perfect bar I tried the other day Sad smile. Oh well, I’ll eat them at the office if I need a quick snack.

HPIM1436

I also grabbed a handful of Oatmeal Square Crack, raisins, and almonds

HPIM1442

Then Brittany and I got to work on some…

Pumpkin Spice Popcorn Balls

Ingredients

  • ~ 9 cups popped popcorn (1/4cup unpopped is supposed to make 6 cups, but I got 9 outta it… and needed every bit!)
  • 3/4 cup agave nectar
  • 3T Molasses
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ginger
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • any roll-in, or topping you please (I actually didn’t use any!)

HPIM1433

(I didn’t end up using the marshmallows OR raisins… because I was too lazy the popcorn balls tasted pretty darn good by themselves)

AND I used this ghetto awesome air popper I bought last year at a thrift store! SCORE!

HPIM1435

Directions:

  1. Pop the corn Smile 
  2. Line a few baking sheets with parchment paper
  3. Mix the Agave Nectar, Molasses, and salt in a sauce pan
  4. Cook on medium heat, stirring constantly with a wooden spoon.  Heat until approximately 235-240 degrees F (or 223-228 degrees F for high altitude), using a candy thermometer (soft-ball stage of the sugar).
  5. Remove from heat and add in cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger.  Let rest for a few minutes.
  6. Gently mix it with all the popcorn in a glass bowl (ya don’t want to melt a bowl or get burnt), just be careful not to crush too much of the popcorn Smile
  7. Let rest a few minutes until you can roll them into bite-sized balls – put them on the lined baking sheets and stick ‘em in the fridge until they harden up a bit (this made about 20-30 little pieces for me)

HPIM1437

HPIM1438

HPIM1439

HPIM1440

These were actually QUITE tasty!! Scott freaking LOVED these things!! That right there tells me the recipe is probably ready to post!! Smile

HPIM1451

But, I could think of about a million things you could mix into these puppies: chocolate chips, almonds, graham cracker crumbs, walnuts, raisins, pretzels, pumpkin candy corn, coconut… Brittany had the GREAT idea of perhaps making a chocolate or pumpkin flavored drizzle to coat them… but we sort of ran out of time (and they honestly tasted pretty darn good as they were).

We finished these, and then I whipped up a yyuuuummmy dinner for Scott and I of Tilapia, steamed broccoli, and Israeli couscous (with raisins, olives, and a light dressing). YUM! (Scott didn’t eat the cous cous or the broccoli – More for me!!!)

HPIM1453

Blogging is going to be sketchy the next few days… Halloween = random things happening and I can’t tell when I’ll have time to write Smile.  BUT, I will post our costumes before the weekend is over because me and Scott are going to look INCREDIBLE!!!! Smile He demoed his at work today and O.M.G. it was so awesome he won something from his company!!

