I hope you had a great Sunday! It’s terrible how quickly weekends go by…

Today was a rest day for me from the gym – so naturally, I spent the entire day playing with my food in the kitchen!! I LOVE LOVE LOVE being able to make more than one hearty, homemade meal a day.

Breakfast this morning was HOT oatmeal! (I love overnight oats, but I miss having the time for a fresh, hot batch of them!)

HPIM1367

Simple Steel Cut Oats

  • 1 1/4 – 1 1/2 cups water
  • 1/4 cup steel cut oats
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 sliced banana
  • ~1 Tablespoon chia seeds (I’m still not quite to 1 T yet….almost!)
  • ~1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • just a leeeeetle dash of salt

Boil the water and then stir in the steel cut oats.  Cook for approximately 15 minutes, or until most of the water is absorbed.  Stir in the milk, banana slices, chia seeds, vanilla, and cinnamon and cook for just a few more minutes (until desired creaminess).

My Toppings:

  • A glob of my chocolate peanut butter
  • A slightly larger glob of strawberry jam
  • ~1-1.5T chopped walnuts
  • Tiny sprinkle of Pumpkin Granola from Whole Foods

HPIM1370

Lunch was a delicious veggie sandwich on the Sprouted Wheat Bread I just bought (deeeelicious bread by the way):

HPIM1374

Sprouted Wheat Bread, 3 thick slices of tomatoes, hummus (on both halves of the bread- gotta taste the yumminess from ALL sides), 1/4 avocado, and carrot slices for a bit of crunch!

I also had some of the leftover pasta salad from Scott’s company party last night…. we’re going to be eating that until we have grandchildren…. (might have made a smidge too much…) But, it’s a mighty tasty batch I must say!

HPIM1375

Then I stole Salami, and left Scott to deal with building our new dresser that came in a few weeks ago!

HPIM1380

HPIM1376

(going to take allll day probably)

Then it was time to MAKE ME SOME MORE NUT BUTTER!!!!  I’ve finally forgiven the food processor for mutilating my thumb last weekend….

Finally. Time. For. Ashley’s Pumpkin Spiced Almond Butter!!!.

HPIM1381

HPIM1382

Ohmeohmyohdearholycowwhatthecrudapplesauce?!?!?!

This stuff BLOWS MY MIND!!!!!! Pumpkin spice FILLED nut butter!! SmileSmileSmileSmile

This is probably going in something every single day this month!!!!!

And now a bit of R&R with the hubby– Next Iron Chef and Amazing Race come on!!! THEN, hopefully getting a little bit into Indonesia in “Eat, Pray, Love”. (Highly recommend that book btw Smile)

Nighty night!

