Yesterday, Brittany, Scott, Tom and I met Robin from Robin Chocolates at What’s Cooking in Lafayette to sample some of her absolutely sinful chocolate creations

HPIM1238

HPIM1240 (Salt Caramel Lollipops)

HPIM1239

HPIM1241

Jealous yet?!? I would be Smile

Today, we met her at Cayenne Kitchen in Longmont, where we were privileged downright spoiled by even more delectable samples!

We started off with Port Wine served in a fancy dark chocolate cup

HPIM1279

The mixture of the two was amazing! The chocolate was incredibly creamy and melted right in your mouth.  Brittany (who isn’t a fan of wine at all) also loved the combination!

Next was a bit of Chocolate Peanut Shale

HPIM12801

I’d compare this to regular toffee, but it was lighter, much more flakey and LOADED with peanuty-chocolatey goodness.  Any sort of combination of peanut butter + chocolate makes my head spin, and this is definitely on the top of my list now. *drools*

HPIM1285 (Cocoa nibs dusted in 23 carat gold) AH-mazing!

HPIM1286 Raspberry Caramel!

Result?: Creamy and chewy with a hint of raspberry.  Smile

HPIM1282 (Hazelnut Bark)

HPIM1281

HPIM1288

HPIM1289

The famous Robin herself tending to the many, many samplers that walked in!

Brittany, Scott, Tom and I were at the Colorado Chocolate Festival earlier this year where we first heard of Robin Chocolates.  We walked up to her booth RIGHT as she was told she won Best in Show for her Lemon Soufflé truffle!  So, like any other sane individuals, we immediately bought some Smile

Brittany’s pick from back then was:

Colorado Chocolate Festival

Top Row: Mint Chocolate Chip, Chocolate Caramel Fleur de Sel

Bottom Row: Caramel Pecan Turtle, Piña Colada (not online anymore, so just be jealous that we got to sample that one!! Smile)

I had gotten the Caramel Pecan Turtle, Mint Chocolate Chip, Lemon Soufflé, and Caramel Macchiato.

Today, Brittany and I were once again privileged to taste some of the most beautiful looking chocolates.

The picks?

HPIM1291

My husband helped me taste test these puppies too!!….

HPIM12931Pomegranate: hard outer shell with a creamy dark chocolate Ganache center.  The little hint of pomegranate was peerrrrfect!

HPIM12941Chocolate Caramel Fleur de Sel: O. M. G. The combination of the caramel with the sea salt literally made me drool…. I was trying to eat it too slowly and I guess my mind drifted off into a chocolate coma! Epic Win!  Scott’s not such a fan of the salty-sweet combination however – that just meant I got the bigger piece of this!

HPIM12951Pure Africa: (I think this was my husband’s favorite!) Thick, creamy dark chocolate ganache center, enough said.  Smile

HPIM12961Raspberry Heart: ok, might also be the husband’s favorite!! The flavor of raspberry literally JUMPS out right as the chocolate goes in your mouth.  Intense, raspberry, deliciousness!

Lastly, a sample of the Caramel Pecan Turtle:

Exactly what you would always want from anything with the words “caramel” or “turtle”…only 3x better! AND it’s incredibly CUTE!!

HPIM1302

I always have a hard time eating these little chocolates because I feel guilty destroying something so beautiful!  Some of them remind me of those marbley, glass-blown spheres you see in stores downtown that you’re too afraid to touch (you know what I mean Smile)

Ok, that’s it from me – I need to go let the sugar rush die down a little bit…..

