Ok, so this is it… the start of me actually DOING some form of blog, instead of just reading everyone else’s Smile YAY!  It’s still a huge work in progress and I have a lot to learn about editing posts/adding things to the page/picture formats…but yea… gotta start somewhere right?

Today was my Friday off from work (I work a crazy 9-80 schedule so I get every other Friday off!), so I did the usual…

Wake up at freaking 4:45 in the morning for a spin class + extra long mileage (it’s not like I had anywhere to be that early..)!! Smile I tend to think I enjoy this kind of pain and anguish…

Breakfast #1 was pretty simple: Half a toasted bagel with PB, half a banana, some raisins sprinkled on top and a smidge of Agave Nectar drizzled all over it!! I was sort of running late this morning, so I basically INHALED the thing… meaning – it was gone before I even thought to pull out the camera.  SO, here’s a picture of some of the ingredients…

Hunger > my ability to remember things… like grabbing a camera

Bagel Raisin PB Breakfast

Spin class was only 45 minutes this morning and consisted of three stages of these three components: fast flat, working fast hill, working flat), … I stuck around afterwards for a total of an hour and a half and racked up 25 miles Smile.  The overall stats:

Time: 1 hr 32 mins

Miles: 25

Calories burned: 895 (Even though my heart rate monitor is set to my weight/age… I still just take this number with a grain of salt…. estimates people, estimates)

After returning home an absolute SWEATY mess… it was time for a shower and breakfast #2!

After Spin Class (Picture with my crappy camera phone = meh.. but there’s one anyways!)

Breakfast #2 was AAHHHMAZING Steel Cut Oats! I just got some new condiment spoons from Crate and Barrel, so those definitely needed to be broken in!  Oats + Coffee + New Spoons = Happy Erin!

Oatmeal and Coffee

The oats were pretty simple to make, it just took forever since steel cut oats cook for about 20 minutes… I was about to chew my arm off at this point…

Steel Cut Oats

Here’s what I put in my AAHHHMAZING Steel Cut Oats!

  • 1/3 cup steel cut oats
  • 1/3 cup 1% milk
  • 1/4 cup water

I boiled that all together for about 20 minutes, then stirred in:

  • ~1 Tbsp Canned Pumpkin (ZOMG I stock up on this stuff, it’s like crack!!)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp Chia seeds
  • ~1/4 tsp cinnamon

I topped that all off with:

  • 1 tbsp peanut butter (I hadn’t NEARLY had enough at breakfast #1)
  • 1 tsp maple syrup
  • ~1 Tbsp Pumpkin Granola that I got from Whole Foods a little while ago

I usually stick around for 30 miles on my day off, but I was aching to get home and start building our pantry that just came in yesterday (Amazon is awesome!)  Small apartment = no counter/storage space.  No counter/storage space = groceries all over the counter.  Groceries all over the counter = me not having room to even make a PB &J = PANTRY TIME!

See, here’s proof after last weeks grocery trip… where the crud do ya put all that??

Kitchen Counter Mess

Hmm… looks like I was already eating by the time this picture was taken.. (crummy plate + bread in toaster + open hummus container). I guess this really is true:

Hunger > my ability to remember things… like grabbing a camera

